Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Past TFA DC Teach of the Year Awards

Following up on my post, in which my friend Bob Compton called attention to TFAer Julia King being awarded DC’s Teacher of the Year, another friend writes:

Julia King’s election as DC Teacher of the Year is fantastic – but it’s not unique. DC TFA alums have long been recognized through this award for their excellent teaching.  The winner in three of the last four years was an alum, and TFA has been well-represented in the finalists. It really shatters the stereotype.  One alum, Kenneth Robinson, has been teaching at his placement school here for 20 years and is being awarded a David Rubenstein Excellence in Teaching award at the Kennedy center in January. And lots of these Teach of the year award winners and finalists teach in charters.

Here’s what I was able to collect:

Winner: Julia King (TFA Chicago ’08 )
D.C. Preparatory Academy Public Charter School

Laura Good (TFA DC ’05)
Excel Academy Public Charter School

Shajena Erazo (TFA DC ’09)
Ballou H.S. (DCPS)

Winner: Not an alum – but one finalist was: 
Drew Snodgrass, DC Preparatory Academy Charter School

Winner: Jon Rolle (Mid-Atlantic ’05)
Friendship Southeast Academy Public Charter School  

TFA alums Julianna Tabor and Oliver Jones

Winner: Stephanie Day (DC ’05)
Friendship Chamberlain Public Charter School

And remember…Jason Kamras (DC ’95) was the 2005 DC Teacher of the Year and won the national top spot that year, too. 


 Subscribe in a reader