Friday, June 21, 2013

Three School Leaders Granted The Ryan Award

Three school leaders were just honored by the Accelerate Institute:

For the first time, a national award has been created for the real life heroes who are transforming urban schools. The Ryan Award, given out by the Accelerate Institute, is the first major national award recognizing the amazing school leaders across America who are getting the job done. Awardees receive a $25,000 honorarium and the opportunity to be featured as a special guest lecturer in the summer program of the Accelerate Institute at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management.  Ben Marcovitz, Sci Academy (New Orleans), James Troupis, Gary Comer College Prep (Chicago) and Shantelle Wright, Achievement Prep  (Washington, DC) were inducted as the inaugural awardees for The  Ryan Award. These are leaders that over a number of years are doing close to two years’ worth of learning every year. Their stories and strategies will be profiled so that the next generation of school leaders can gain powerful inspiration and insight from their successes. The Ryan Award was established by the Accelerate Institute (formerly The Alain Locke Initiative) and made possible by the Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Foundation.

 Subscribe in a reader