Friday, August 27, 2010

10 RTTT winners!

STOP THE PRESSES!  9 states and DC won RTTT grants (amounts to be revealed later today):


The U.S. Education Department said Tuesday that nine states and the District of Columbia will get money to reform schools in the second round of the $4.35 billion "Race to the Top" grant competition.


Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island and Washington, D.C., will receive grants, department spokesman Justin Hamilton said. The amounts for each state were expected to be announced later.


Here are the nine finalists who didn't win: Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina.  I am stunned that Colorado and Louisiana didn't win.  The unions lack of collaboration no doubt was decisive in Colorado – they will have MUCH explaining to do…  Much more commentary later…

 Subscribe in a reader